DIY: Happy Birthday Sash

I have a friend who loves birthdays. It’s the one time of year I see her excited about anything. Since I missed so many of her birthdays being overseas at college (especially the big 2-1) I decided to do something special, get her a sash! But of course I searched and couldn’t find any in Barbados. They only had for milestone birthdays, and not even a generic ‘Happy Birthday’. Determined, I decided to make my own and it was actually a lot easier than I anticipated.

You’ll need:
1 yard of fabric for the sash (I chose satin)
1/4 yard fabric for the letters (I chose a glittery fabric)
Glitter- optional
No sew glue
Scissors
Printer

The steps:

  • Cut 2 strips of your fabric as wide as you want them to be (I measured it on my shoulder to decide).
  • “Hem” the sides with the No Sew Glue. Be sure to use it sparingly. Let dry (I left mine overnight to be safe).
  • Overlap the right sides together, one at an angle. This is where it will rest on your shoulder.
  • Apply a line of No Sew Glue where they meet to create the seam.
  • Here’s where you will need to measure how long you need your sash to be. Flip the sash and place the glued end over you shoulder and pin the open side together at the right length (My friend is taller than I am so I was sure to bear that in mind).
  • Cut off any excess.

Because I chose a glittery fabric, I didn’t use glitter. I didn’t want it to be complete overkill. I printed the letters, used the cut outs as stencils and glued them to the satin. But if you use felt or another simple material, feel free to use as much glitter as you like to bring your sash to life!

20130310_162948-1

I think she liked it 🙂

 

Smooches! xx

Leave a comment