10 R&B Songs to Make You Believe Again

black-white-kiss-couple

Whatever became of good ol’ R&B? I miss the days of Boys II Men, Brian McKnight and Shania Twain. And who can deny the sheer intelligence and effortless beauty of Maxwell’s ‘This Woman’s Work’ or K-Ci & Jo Jo’s ‘All my Life’? Those songs just did something to me and even now when I hear them on the radio there are feelings of nostalgia entwined with illicit dreams of raw, fiery passion sizzling on a bed of rose petals, drunk with guilt… Ecstasy.

I can’t help but wonder what I’ll play at my wedding. Today only two artistes consistently give me those wistful cold bumps, John Legend and Miguel. Even though for me John Legend is trying to find a way to mesh his soulful voice with the art of making money by having more funky songs in his repertoire, his most recent album, ‘Love in the Future’, hit the G-spot. Even though I’m not a fan of hers, I must thank Chrissy Teigen for agreeing to marry the man and stirring feelings in him that elicited such an enthralling sex album. From beginning to end it just exudes passion. Words can’t describe how crazy I am about it. Thank you also to Yeezus for blessing the album– I don’t care what anyone says about his personality or choice of reproduction facilitator, the man is a musical genius.

Miguel is through and through a straight shooter. I love that for now he is willing to sacrifice innumerable bottles of Ace of Spades for an authentic sound. You are artdealerchic and I thank you.

So here’s a list of 10 relatively new R&B songs that I think can attempt to sit at the big boys’ table:

  1. Adorn- Miguel
  2. Do You- Miguel
  3. Quickie- Miguel
  4. Lotus Flower Bomb- Wale ft. Miguel
  5. All of Me- John Legend
  6. Tonight (Best You Ever Had) – John Legend
  7. Thinking About You- Frank Ocean
  8. The Fire We Make- Alicia Keys ft. Maxwell
  9. Dirty Laundry -Kelly Rowland
  10. VSOP- K.Michelle

Who turns you on?

Smooches! xx

Leave a comment