The wig that fooled everyone

Who doesn’t love protective styling? And if a style can double as protective and cute then it’s a win-win, no? This will be my third time trying out Sensationnel’s Bump Hair and I love it!

3 weeks post installation

3 weeks post installation

20130214_193032

A few days post installation

Installation & styling

I bought two packs and had it installed as a U-Part wig. My hairdresser used the ‘bra-strap’ wig cap which was the best part of it all because it allowed me easy access to my hair underneath. I was therefore able to moisturize my hair nightly as usual, except that it was even easier because my hair was in cornrows.

I had it styled in a short bob which had several workmates and friends confused because they thought I had cut my hair! Also because the hair comes pre-bumped, the hair is very bouncy and full of body which I love. I blended my leave out either by using rollers at night or flat ironing in the morning.

Night routine

My hairdresser suggested that I wrap my hair nightly as I would regular relaxed hair. It required a few many duckbill clips to keep it in place at night but it kept the style.

Washing

I co-washed the wig every weekend with Herbal Essences ‘Hello Hydration’ conditioner and let it air dry. It dried fairly quickly and I found that the ends always dried in a flip out style rather than curling under, which was weird but cool.

Other deets:Bump hair

Full product name:
Goddess Remi Human Hair Weave Sensationnel Bump Yaki 8″ in 1B.

Smart buy?
I bought this from the #1 Beauty Supply in Rock Dundo because the one in Speightstown did not have 1B. If you’re like me you’ll want to call ahead (I have their numbers saved in my phone) to save yourself a trip. Their price was $60 BBD per pack, as compared to $25 USD on Amazon and as little as $19.99 USD on other online hair sites. For me the markup was reasonable (just $10 per pack) so I didn’t mind.

Cons?
1. The pack said yaki but the texture was still very silky so it did not 100% blend with my leave out as much as I would have liked. My yaki full lace from RPG show spoiled me because it is so realistic; this one wasn’t like that.
2. After 3 weeks the hair was not as bouncy as it was in the beginning. Obviously it is expected that it would lose some flair with the wrapping and sleeping on it at night but still… I didn’t love it by the third week as much as I loved it at first.
3. I may be paranoid but something was staining my nails black when I was wearing the hair. Since I’ve removed the hair my nails are fine so I’m left to believe that some dye was used…. not nice.
4. I didn’t like flat-ironing my leave out as this was intended to be a protective style, but thankfully I only had to do it when I was in a rush or feeling lazy.

Smooches?
Cons aside, I loooovee this hair. I love how natural it looks and how it fools everyone. It does not tangle, is easy to wash and serves as a great protective style for up to 4 weeks. I will definitely be trying this again.

What do you think of bump hair as a protective style?

Smooches!! xx

Leave a comment